Google Sites Editor: Add Editors and Published Viewers

Learn how to allow editors and published viewers in your Google Sites project.

Help Center All Topics Collaboration Add Editors and Published Viewers

Tip: To change the site owner, see Google Sites Editor: Change the Site Owner.

Collaboration in Google Sites

Collaboration is a powerful tool that can be utilized to work with others, to publish and share your site on Google Sites faster.

Important: Only the owner of the site can connect a domain. Learn how to change the site owner.

Keep in mind

  • Editors with a non-Google account can view a draft of your site, but cannot edit it.

  • To view a draft, an Editor with a non-Google account must enter a verification code. You receive an email with this code when you’re invited to be an editor.

  • Editors with a Google account can view and edit your site without a verification code.

Invite others to your site

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Share icon (🧑+)

  3. Under Share with People & Groups, enter an email address or Google Groups

  4. Then choose Editor or Published Viewer

  5. Tap Done

Limit Editors' privileges

  1. In the top navigation, tap Share icon (🧑+)

  2. In the Upper Right corner, tap Settings icon (⚙)

  3. Toggle Editors can publish, change permissions, and add new people

  4. Tap Back icon (⬅)

  5. Tap Done

Change an Editor to Published Viewer or vice versa

  1. In the top navigation, tap Share icon (🧑+)

  2. Next to Editor or Published Viewer, tap Down Arrow (⬇)

  3. Choose Editor or Published Viewer

  4. Tap Done

Remove others from your site

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Share icon (🧑+)

  3. Under Share with People & Groups, find the editor you want to remove

  4. In the right, tap Arrow icon (⬇) next to Editor or Published Viewer

  5. Tap Remove

  6. Tap Done

Sharing settings in Google Sites

Sharing settings in Google Sites

Last updated: Dec 28, 2021