Google Sites Editor: Publishing and Sharing Settings

Learn how to publish and share your site in Google Sites.

Help Center All Topics Publishing & Sharing Sharing Settings

Publish your site

You can easily publish your site and make it viewable through a URL such as sites.google.com/view/SITENAME.

Tip: Visitors can easily find and remember your site with a domain name like www.yourdomain.com. Learn how to use a custom domain name.

Step 1: Preview your site

Use preview mode to view how your site looks on different devices: mobile, tablet or desktop.

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Preview icon (💻)

  3. To change previews, choose a Device icon (💻, 📱)

  4. To close the preview, tap Close icon (❌)

Step 2: Publish your site

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Publish

  3. Enter an address you like

Important: Terms that violate Google's Acceptable Use Policy won’t be allowed.

  1. Tap Publish

Tip: If you want to use an address that's in-use by an existing site you own, change the address or permenantly remove that site. Learn how to delete a site. Learn how to change your site's web address.

Publishing Settings

Change your site's web address

You can edit or change your sites.google.com/view/SITENAME URL in your site's publishing settings.

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Arrow icon () next to Publish

  3. Tap Publish settings...

  4. Under Web address, enter an address you like

Important: Terms that violate Google's Acceptable Use Policy won’t be allowed.

  1. Save your changes

Hide your site from search engines

This option is only available if your site's sharing settings are set to public and can be viewed by anyone.

Important: This is a request and doesn’t guarantee that your site won’t show up in public search engines.

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Arrow icon () next to Publish

  3. Tap Publish settings...

  4. Next to Search settings, toggle Request search engines not to display my site

  5. Save your changes

Review changes made to your site before publishing

In a side-by-side comparison, you can review the most recent changes to your site before publishing.

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Arrow icon (⬇) next to Publish

  3. Tap Publish Settings...

  4. Next to Review changes and publish, toggle Editors must review changes before publishing

  5. Save your changes

Publish settings in Google Sites

Publish settings in Google Sites

Preview mode in Google Sites

Preview mode - Google Sites

Sharing settings

You can restrict who can access your site or make it viewable by anyone on th web.

Edit your site's privacy

  1. On a computer, open a site in new Google Sites

  2. In the top navigation, tap Share icon (👤+)

  3. Under Links, tap Change

    • Next to Draft Site, choose Public or Restricted

    • Next to Published Site, choose Public or Restricted

  4. Tap Done

Tip: To add editors and published viewers, see Google Sites Editor: Add Editors and Published Viewers.

Tip: To change the site owner, see Google Sites Editor: Change the Site Owner.

Sharing settings in Google Sites

Sharing settings in Google Sites

Last updated: Dec 28, 2021